SUNDAY ROAST @ HAWKSMOOR, SPITALFIELDS

Sunday 14th May.

I travelled to Spitalfields on a gorgeous sunny afternoon to sample the delights of the Hawksmoor! I fancy myself as a bit of a foodie so I’m pretty ashamed to say this was my first ever visit! I originally booked up for an Easter Sunday meal but ended up spending the bank holiday weekend poorly in bed so I was really looking forward to this rescheduled date!

We both went for the beef roast and OH EM GEE. It was delicious. They didn’t scrimp on portions and everything was cooked to perfection! The beef was so amazing, up there with Gaucho quality. I have to say I didn’t really understand the oven baked  whole garlic…what am I supposed to do with that? (that might be a really stupid question to all the REAL foodies out there!) I washed my meal down with a lovely glass of prosecco – the cocktail menu really wasn’t for me, everything seemed to feature gin which I hate with a passion; it is so awful, I don’t understand how people can stomach it!

Just when you would think we wouldn’t have any room left we decided to “have a look” at the dessert menu (as you do!) I chose a wonderful champagne jelly with strawberries and cream – it was a bit like an Eton Mess topped with strawberry sorbet; summery and refreshing! If you’re in the area (or near any of the Hawksmoor restaurants) I would definitely recommend going. At £20 for a roast dinner it is in no way cheap but the quality makes it well worth it! Or book up for a special occasion – it is certainly impressive!

I can’t wait to go back for a steak!

P.S I’ll leave this here for your perusal…

Leave a Reply

