UP & VANISHED: PODCAST REVIEW

Let me start by saying I never thought I would be interested in podcasts – someone talking at me whilst I tried to retain the information was never a very appealing thought! However, a while back, my friend persuaded me to download ‘Serial’ and I absolutely loved it! The story was so engaging and listening to the episodes on the way to work certainly made the commute a little easier!

I was looking for a new series to start and my boyfriend recommended ‘Up & Vanished’ – presented in a similar way to Serial and again in the true crime genre. It follows the presenter/narrator/podcaster (I have no idea what the correct terminology is!) attempting to solve the mystery of the cold case relating to the disappearance of Tara Grinstead, who has been missing from her hometown of Ocilla, Georgia since 2005.

I have no intentions of revealing any spoilers so you’re safe to read on! I really want to try and encourage those interested in crime related books, documentaries and films to consider branching out into podcasts…especially this one! The episodes tend to be relatively short (maximum 1 hour but on average about 40 minutes) and easy to follow without having to listen too intently (as the key bits of information tend to be recapped regularly, which if you’re like me, and have the memory of a goldfish, is very useful).

I’ve finished the first 18 episodes of the series and I am fully hooked! Next episode is released on Monday and I can’t wait to see how everything unfolds!

Oh, best thing about these fantastic podcasts…ABSOLUTELY FREE! (You just have to endure some truly awful American advertising…)

HAPPY LISTENING!

Leave a Reply

